Sciver-Brunt named ICC women’s cricketer of year-ZoomTech News

The ladies’s cricketer of the yr award is called after former England worldwide Rachael Heyhoe Flint

England all-rounder Nat Sciver-Brunt has been named Girls’s Cricketer of the Yr by the Worldwide Cricket Council for the second yr in a row.

The 31-year-old was England’s participant of the collection within the drawn 2023 Ashes contest and their main run-scorer on the T20 World Cup final February.

“It feels fairly particular. I wasn’t anticipating it,” Sciver-Brunt stated.

Pat Cummins, whose Australia received the World Cup, Take a look at Championship and retained the Ashes, received the male award.

In addition to being captain he took 18 wickets within the Ashes, which completed in a dramatic 2-2 draw, and one other 15 in India as his facet received the 50-over title for a sixth time.

“It is an enormous honour,” Cummins stated. “It has been an enormous yr with plenty of crew success and to get this particular person honour is big.”

Sciver-Brunt scored three centuries in 5 one-day worldwide knocks in 2023, together with two towards Australia.

“I’m actually happy and proud,” she stated.

“It is without doubt one of the prime awards you may win, to come back up and compete towards your team-mates but in addition the remainder of the worldwide groups as nicely.”

Sciver-Brunt, who beat Sri Lanka’s Chamari Athapaththu, and Australia pair Ash Gardner and Beth Mooney to the award, additionally scored nicely in her two Exams in 2023 – 78 towards Australia and 59 within the defeat by India in December.

Solely Australia’s Ellyse Perry and India’s Smriti Mandhana have received two Girls’s Cricketer of the Yr titles earlier than and Sciver-Brunt is the primary to take action in consecutive years.

Regardless of Sciver-Brunt’s success England have been unable to regain the Ashes because the multi-format collection was drawn 8-8 whereas additionally they exited the T20 World Cup within the semi-finals.

Sciver-Brunt was named within the ICC’s ODI and T20 groups of the yr with team-mate Sophie Ecclestone additionally within the T20 facet.

Joe Root and Stuart Broad have been each named within the males’s Take a look at crew of 2023 whereas England’s Phil Salt was within the males’s T20 XI.

Australia opener Usman Khawaja was named males’s Take a look at participant of the yr.

India’s Virat Kohli received the lads’s ODI award within the yr he broke former team-mate Sachin Tendulkar’s century document within the format.

Award winners

Males’s cricketer of the yr: Pat Cummins (Australia)

Girls’s cricketer of the yr: Nat Sciver-Brunt (England)

Males’s Take a look at cricketer of the yr: Usman Khawaja (Australia)

Girls’s ODI cricketer of the yr: Chamari Athapaththu (Sri Lanka)

Males’s ODI cricketer of the yr: Virat Kohli (India)

Males’s T20 cricketer of the yr: Suryakumar Yadav (India)

Girls’s T20 cricketer of the yr: Hayley Matthews (West Indies)

Males’s affiliate cricketer of the yr: Bas de Leede (Netherlands)

Girls’s affiliate cricketer of the yr: Queentor Abel (Kenya)

Males’s rising cricketer of the yr: Rachin Ravindra (New Zealand)

Girls’s rising cricketer of the yr: Phoebe Litchfield (Australia)

Males’s Take a look at crew of the yr: Usman Khawaja (Australia), Dimuth Karunaratne (Sri Lanka), Kane Williamson (New Zealand), Joe Root (England), Travis Head (Australia), Ravindra Jadeja (India), Alex Carey (wk, Australia), Pat Cummins (capt, Australia), Ravichandran Ashwin (India), Mitchell Starc (Australia), Stuart Broad (England)

Girls’s ODI crew of the yr: Phoebe Litchfield (Australia), Chamari Athapaththu (capt, Sri Lanka), Ellyse Perry (Australia), Amelia Kerr (New Zealand), Beth Mooney (wk, Australia), Nat Sciver-Brunt (England), Ash Gardner (Australia), Annabel Sutherland (Australia), Nadine de Klerk (South Africa), Lea Tahuhu (New Zealand), Nahida Akter (Bangladesh)

Males’s ODI crew of the yr: Rohit Sharma (capt, India), Shubman Gill (India), Travis Head (Australia), Virat Kohli (India), Daryl Mitchell (New Zealand), Heinrich Klaasen (wk, South Africa), Marco Jansen (South Africa), Adam Zampa (Australia), Mohammed Siraj (India), Kuldeep Yadav (India), Mohammed Shami (India)

Girls’s T20 crew of the yr: Chamari Athapaththu (capt, Sri Lanka), Beth Mooney (wk, Australia), Laura Wolvaardt (South Africa), Hayley Matthews (West Indies), Nat Sciver-Brunt (England), Amelia Kerr (New Zealand), Ellyse Perry (Australia), Ash Gardner (Australia), Deepti Sharma (India), Sophie Ecclestone (England), Megan Schutt (Australia)

Males’s T20 crew of the yr: Yashasvi Jaiswal (India), Phil Salt (England), Nicholas Pooran (wk, West Indies), Suryakumar Yadav (capt, India), Mark Chapman (New Zealand), Sikandar Raza (Zimbabwe), Alpesh Ramjani (Uganda), Mark Adair (Eire), Ravi Bishnoi (India), Richard Ngarava (Zimbabwe)

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Scroll to Top