Jones and Hooper reunite for Barbarians against Wales-ZoomTech News

Eddie Jones (left) made Michael Hooper one in all Australia’s co-captains when he returned as head coach

Australia duo Eddie Jones and Michael Hooper have been reunited for Barbarians in opposition to Wales in Cardiff on Saturday.

Jones has left as Australia boss after failing to achieve the World Cup knockout phases in France, having omitted former captain Hooper from his squad.

Jones will coach the Barbarians alongside incoming New Zealand boss Scott Robertson.

Wales nice Alun Wyn Jones will captain the aspect.

He’s joined within the beginning aspect by ex-Wales flanker Justin Tipuric who packs down in the identical again row as Hooper.

Former Wales internationals Jamie Roberts and Mark Jones and 2003 England World Cup winner Will Greenwood will act as Barbarians assistant coaches for the uncapped fixture on the Principality Stadium.

Eddie Jones, who started a second spell in command of Australia in January, turned the primary Wallabies coach to fail to achieve the World Cup knockout phases.

Their marketing campaign included a file 40-6 defeat in opposition to Warren Gatland’s Wales aspect in Lyon.

It has been introduced Jones will formally step down on 25 November, however he’ll work with Australian gamers in Cardiff this weekend.

These embrace Hooper, who was omitted for the match in France, and Angus Bell, Taniela Tupou, Rob Valetini, Andrew Kellaway and Ben Donaldson, who all participated within the World Cup.

Wales legends return

Both Justin Tipuric and Alun Wyn Jones have captained Ospreys and Wales
Justin Tipuric and Alun Wyn Jones have captained Ospreys and Wales

Tipuric and Alun Wyn Jones introduced their worldwide retirements on the identical day in Could 2023 and this can be a possibility for one final look in Cardiff, albeit in opposition to Wales.

Jones, the world’s most capped participant with 158 internationals for Wales and 12 extra Checks for the British and Irish Lions, had already been confirmed within the Barbarians squad.

He can be joined by Ospreys captain Tipuric, who performed 93 internationals for Wales.

Tipuric will miss Ospreys’ United Rugby Championship match in opposition to Sharks on Friday evening in a house sport they’ve determined to modify to south-west London at Harlequins’ floor the Stoop.

The same old floor in Swansea is unavailable as a result of the fixture clashes with a Championship soccer match on Saturday between Swansea Metropolis and Sunderland.

Ospreys are already lacking one other flanker, Jac Morgan, who will captain Wales on Saturday afternoon in Cardiff, whereas defence coach Mark Jones is concerned within the Barbarians backroom employees.

The Wales squad contains full-back Leigh Halfpenny, who has additionally introduced his worldwide retirement and this can be his final look within the crimson jersey.

The match has controversially been organized regardless of the complete league programme for the Welsh areas, with a derby between Scarlets and Cardiff happening on the identical day.

It’s a fixture conflict that interim Welsh Rugby Union (WRU) chief govt Nigel Walker admitted was a mistake and stated wouldn’t occur once more.

Barbarians: Ilasia Droasese (Fiji); Shaun Stevenson (New Zealand), Len Ikitau (Australia), Izaia Perese (Australia), Selestino Ravutaumada (Fiji); Nicolas Sanchez (Argentina), Simione Kuruvoli (Fiji); Joe Moody (New Zealand), Tevita Ikanivere (Fiji), Taniela Tupou (Australia), Rob Leota (Australia), Alun Wyn Jones (Wales, capt), Justin Tipuric (Wales), Michael Hooper (Australia), Rob Valetini (Australia).

Replacements: Angus Bell (Australia), Asafo Aumua (New Zealand), Peni Ravai (Fiji), Api Ratuniyarawa (Fiji), Tom Hooper (Australia), Lautaro Bazan Velez (Argentina), Ben Donaldson (Australia), Andrew Kellaway (Australia).

Wales squad

Forwards: Corey Domachowski (Cardiff), Nicky Smith (Ospreys), Elliot Dee (Dragons), Dewi Lake (Ospreys), Keiron Assiratti (Cardiff), Leon Brown (Dragons), Adam Beard (Ospreys), Ben Carter (Dragons), Teddy Williams (Cardiff), Dan Lydiate (Dragons), Jac Morgan (Ospreys, captain) Taine Plumtree (Scarlets), Aaron Wainwright (Dragons).

Backs: Kieran Hardy (Scarlets), Tomos Williams (Cardiff), Sam Costelow (Scarlets), Cai Evans (Dragons), Mason Grady (Cardiff), George North (Ospreys), Johnny Williams (Scarlets), Rio Dyer (Dragons), Leigh Halfpenny (unattached), Tom Rogers (Scarlets).

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Scroll to Top