Dala double helps Angola move top of Afcon group-ZoomTech News

Dala double helps Angola move top of Afcon group-ZoomTech News

Gelson Dala scored twice as Angola beat Mauritania to shut in on the final 16 of the Africa Cup of Nations.

Ahead Dala reacted neatly to the rebound from a nook to place his aspect forward, firing a shot in opposition to the turf and into the roof of the online.

Sidi Amar levelled for the Lions of Chinguetti with a blinding run and end two minutes earlier than half-time.

Dala and Gilberto each struck to make it 3-1 earlier than Aboubakary Koita’s spectacular comfort for Mauritania.

The end result means Angola are assured to advance with a degree in opposition to Burkina Faso, who even have 4 factors and drew 2-2 with Algeria earlier on Saturday, when the leaders meet of their ultimate group-stage recreation on Tuesday (20:00 GMT).

Dala double decorates sudden thriller

Few would have anticipated 5 objectives and leisure aplenty between these sides, with Mauritania failing to attain of their previous six matches throughout three editions of the Afcon finals and Angola netting solely seven occasions in 10 group-stage matches because the 2010 match.

The one shot on the right track of their goalless earlier assembly, on the 2019 Afcon finals, is the bottom tally in that respect in any match on the final three tournaments – however this encounter shortly dispelled any fears of a colorless contest.

After the edges went shut with early possibilities, each goalkeepers had been referred to as into pressing motion for the primary time when Mabululu’s low effort for Angola was pushed behind by Babacar Niasse and Pape Ibnou Ba nearly fired Mauritania in entrance, Neblu making an alert save.

Dala’s opener gave his aspect the lead for 13 minutes, Amar slaloming by defenders on his method contained in the penalty space to slam in an emphatic reply.

Gilberto ought to have restored Angola’s lead in first-half added time when Niasse’s parry from Dala’s try fell kindly for the midfielder, however he was left with a glance of disbelief on his face after blazing over the crossbar.

The Palancas Negras had gone 9 Afcon video games and not using a win stretching again to 2012, however Dala and Gilberto quickly put them heading in the right direction to vary that with two objectives in 4 minutes after the break.

Dala ended a positive run by steering the ball in neatly and his teammate added the completion to a spell of Angola trickery contained in the field, chopping inside to arrow of their third through Lamine Ba’s tried block.

Mauritania stay winless in all eight Afcon video games they’ve performed however the One hundred and fifth-placed group on this planet can savour what might be some of the eye-catching objectives on the match courtesy of Koita’s superb thunderbolt from outdoors the penalty space.

Their probabilities of progressing depend upon victory in opposition to Algeria. Having misplaced 1-0 to Burkina Faso of their opener, they need to then hope to complete as one of many 4 finest third-placed groups in Ivory Coast.



Formation 4-3-3

  • 16Niasse
  • 20KeitaBooked at 24mins
  • 13El Abd
  • 5Ba
  • 3AbeidSubstituted forDiawat 45′minutes
  • 4GassamaBooked at 85mins
  • 6FofanaSubstituted forKamaraat 59′minutes
  • 8Bodda
  • 23AmarSubstituted forTanjyat 81′minutes
  • 25Substituted forDoukaraat 59′minutes
  • 19Koïta


  • 1Diaw
  • 2Diaw
  • 9Tanjy
  • 10Thiam
  • 11Anne
  • 12Camara
  • 14Dellahi
  • 15Doukara
  • 21Houbeib
  • 24N’Diaye
  • 26Ngom
  • 27Kamara


Formation 4-2-3-1

  • 22Cipriano da Cruz
  • 21Melo Afonso
  • 6Gaspar
  • 3Buatu Mananga
  • 2Domingos Matias FortunaBooked at 90mins
  • 16Kulembe Gomes RibeiroSubstituted forCunga Balangaat 86′minutes
  • 23da Silva Cafumana
  • 7VieiraSubstituted forSebastião Luvumboat 78′minutes
  • 9Cabaça SalvadorSubstituted forKelianoat 61′minutes
  • 10Muondo DalaSubstituted forTualungo Paulo Lameirasat 86′minutes
  • 19Paciência


  • 1Signori Dominique
  • 4Keliano
  • 5Cunga Balanga
  • 8Mukendi
  • 11Mendes João Milson
  • 12Manuel Monteiro
  • 13de Jesus Corte Actual Carneiro
  • 15Sebastião Luvumbo
  • 17Lourenço Pinto de Almeida Paz
  • 18Bela
  • 20Tualungo Paulo Lameiras

Mohamed Maarouf Eid Mansour

Stay Textual content

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Scroll to Top