Alcaraz beaten by Zverev on ATP Finals debut-ZoomTech News

Carlos Alcaraz received Wimbledon and reached the US Open and French Open semi-finals in 2023

Carlos Alcaraz suffered defeat on his ATP Finals debut as Alexander Zverev fought again to win in Turin, Italy.

Wimbledon champion Alcaraz misplaced 6-7 (3-7) 6-3 6-4 to Germany’s Zverev, who received the occasion in 2018 and 2021.

It’s the first time the 20-year-old Spaniard has misplaced three matches in a row since March 2021, when he was ranked exterior the world’s prime 100.

World quantity two Alcaraz certified for the match final yr however withdrew with an belly harm.

Earlier, Britain’s Neal Skupski and Dutch associate Wesley Koolhof started their marketing campaign with a 6-3 6-4 win over Australians Jason Kubler and Rinky Hijikata.

Briton Joe Salisbury and American associate Rajeev Ram are additionally in motion in a while Monday in opposition to Australia’s Matthew Ebden and Rohan Bopanna of India.

Alcaraz had received his previous two conferences with Zverev this yr however struggled for consistency on the indoor onerous courtroom.

He trailed 3-1 within the opener earlier than breaking again and staved off 4 break factors in his subsequent service recreation to steer Zverev for the primary time.

Zverev himself saved two set factors to power a tie-break, however Alcaraz discovered some semblance of rhythm to clinch the opener.

Nevertheless, seventh seed Zverev responded immediately, breaking Alcaraz on the first alternative as he pressured a deciding set.

Zverev performed the large factors higher all through, saving 5 of six break factors and hitting 16 aces earlier than sealing victory with a service winner.

“It is good to beat the perfect gamers on the earth, and he is positively one in every of them,” Zverev stated.

“It is particular to win on this courtroom once more.”

Russia’s Daniil Medvedev performs compatriot Andrey Rublev later within the Purple Group.

The ATP Finals options eight of the yr’s finest males’s gamers cut up into two teams of 4, with the highest two qualifying for the semi-finals.

Novak Djokovic is the defending champion and secured the year-end primary standing with victory over Holger Rune on Sunday.

Related posts

Leave a Comment